matcha honey popcorn

after
Time for the first recipe! I’ve thought about how I might want to do recipes on this site, and I think simple is best. Most of the stuff I cook is an adaption of something and I play around with measurements and spices all the time. So, although I will usually post suggested quantities of ingredients, feel free to experiment.

This popcorn idea came to me while I was trying to come up with ideas for my last bit of matcha powder. Matcha is a powder made from dried and ground green tea leaves, and is especially known for being high in antioxidants and a good coffee replacement (not that I’d ever stop drinking coffee). Matcha powder is relatively cheap in Japan, but if you’re looking for it in America, be prepared to shell out some big bucks. However, a little goes a long way and a small jar will last for a while. Lately, matcha-flavored food products are all over the place, and so I decided to test it out on some stovetop-popped popcorn.

Success? I think so.

Ingredients
1 bowl (~2 servings) of popped popcorn
I used the stovetop to pop 1/4 cup popcorn kernels in a little bit of sunflower oil. Use whatever method works for you.
2 tsp salted butter
2 tsp honey
1 tsp matcha powder

Method
Place cooled popcorn in a large bowl. In a separate, microwave-safe dish, microwave the butter and honey together for about 20 seconds or until melted. Whisk the matcha powder into the honey butter mixture with a fork until combined. Then, using a large spoon, slowly pour the matcha honey butter onto the popcorn and gently toss it until the popcorn is coated. You can also add or subtract more butter/honey/matcha depending on your taste. I found that these quantities were perfect to lightly coat the popcorn without making the flavor too strong.

The flavor combo might sound a little too adventurous to some, but I promise it’s good. Especially if you like green tea 🙂 Enjoy!

 

 

 

Leave a comment